Tags

, , , ,

And the BIG ones too...

 

Lately I have been pondering on life's ordinary and extraordinary miracles, those things big and small that are sometimes overlooked.  Such things are such a necessary part of life and yet when we find ourselves navigating through the quicksand of our lives, noticing the little things that make life, well, life can be challenging. Rather than lament on our tragedies, counting those blessing will be what ultimately provides that raft to our sinking titanic.  What might be a tragedy to one, may be easily shirked off by another. Let's face it, big or small, when life throws lemons said lemons are in the eye of the beholder.  You have a choice; dodge it, catch it, or get beaten down by all that pulp.  Better yet, turn lemons into lemonade.

Another fascinating thing happens when one gets bogged down with too many challenging life events.  After so many times of shaking off the dust and starting over again, the beat down occurs one too many times and you may find yourself feeling like the abyss is too large to bridge.  How do you describe that dark place and how do you even begin to climb out?  I cannot adequately explain this occurence, suffice it to say I have seen the abyss and it is not a place you want to be without at least a flashlight.  Sooner or later the light will shine in.  You find reasons to smile, and those smiles that you thought were a mask…  you find are real. 

We all hear so much the last couple years about today's economic climate.. and so on.  The news always seems bleak and with so many struggling, finding hope in a seemingly hopeless world may be difficult.  So if you are feeling alone in the abyss, struggling to find hope, wishing you could even afford lemons, think on what ordinary miracles and blessings surround you right at this moment.  For me, I went outside and listened to the gentle sound of the rain.  I thought about the fig tree that was all but destroyed during some construcion on my house in December, and how just today I noticed that not only did that tree survive, but is thriving more than ever.  And so what I have learned of late is this:

Each day I genuinely try to remain positive as the alternative is daunting. I look at the blessings in my life rather than what is lacking knowing that I am blessed to have such wonderful girls. I have a great family that would catch me if they could and the bestest of friends (when I'm not too busy trying to run them off) to round out my little tribe. I just need reminding every so often as I say that no (wo)man is an island. We just need the help of others from time to time. In these times to learn to say thank you to these gifts of help and support is the greatest lesson. To love and be loved is the greatest miracle of all and is not ordinary by any stretch of the imagination.  Extraordinary. Thank you.

 

-Charmed, I am Sure

"These things I have spoken to you, that in me you might have peace. In the world you shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world. " John 16:33

PS I know most don't listen to the audio I add, but this song is really quite worth it.

01 - Ordinary Miracle
Sarah McLachlan

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

