Tags

, , ,

or how do I love thee girlies? let us count the ways



On Valentine's day about three years ago, while participating in little shorty's Valentine's Day party at school she had a puzzled look on her face.  As we later walked to the car, laden with cards, candy and gifts, she turned to me and said "Mommy, how much do you love me?" That very day her preschool teacher told her that she loved her around the world and back again, which apparently is quite a lot.  How can you quantify the depths of the love you have for your child?  Or explain that it is endless, boundless, unconditional, in other words, do your worst kiddo. I still love you sweets.


That night we read the story "Guess How Much I Love You," which is a story about a Little Nutbrown Hare and Big Nutbrown Hare.  As the father, Big Nutbrown Hare is putting Little Nutbrown Hare to sleep, Little Nutbrown Hare poses the question "Guess how much I love you?"  Little Nutbrown Hare opens his little arms wide and says "This much."  Big Nutbrown Hare thinks for a moment and says this is a lot as he stretches his longer arms out, and says "I love you this much."  And so it continues through the story. One senses Little Nutbrown Hare's frustration in attempting to express how much he loves his father  In the end while looking up at the endless  night sky,  Little Nutbrown Hare says "I love you to the moon," and Big Nutbrown Hare says," I love you to the moon in back," as Little Nutbrown Hare falls asleep.

Since then as a family we play this game often, new ways to express how much we love each other in words, and deeds of course.  To that end we have compiled a short list of I love you's.

I love you…

1.  …this much
2.  …around the world and back again
3.  …more than all the grains of sand
4.  …more than all the drops of water in every ocean, lake and river
5.  …more than all the stars in the sky
6.  …a million, kazillion, billion times
6.  …more than you could ever possibly imagine

Valentine's Day this year came and went, and maybe I didn't get my girlies the biggest teddy bear, or the biggest box of chocolates.  We made each other cards with lots of glitter.  Yes the other stuff is fun too, but I want my girls to learn what it's all about, to show each other that we love each other.  Chocolate and bears later, and to that end , those two added one more "Mommy, I love you more than all the candy in the world!"  Whoa, what?  That's pretty huge, maybe more than all the stars in the sky we are talking about chocolate after all.

-Charmed, I am Sure





Read and post comments | Send to a friend

