….cont'd

 

Yes, men  and women can be friends and I don't care what Harry or Sally have to say on the matter… 

Does it matter what gender a friend comes to you as?  I truly believe that we all have different people in our lives at different points in our lives that serve different purposes in our lives.  To put the responsibility of the be all and end all of a "BFF" on one person is really too much too ask of anyone, and yet we (I hope) can name a chosen few that will stand by our side as, thick or thin.  Said person will tell you the truth whether you want to hear it or not, let you yell, kick and scream, or send nasty text messages as the case may be, and still call you friend later.

Is it a case of shared interests, shared personality traits, shared responses, shared background, loyalty, longevity, true kinship, kismet, strings, telepathy, tele-empathatic response that creates a friendship?  Recently I questioned where people I had once called friend seemed to have gone.  He or she may have been what I needed, or they needed during a specific time and place in our lives…  So time has passed and the tie that binds has been untied.   It would be easy to take the loss personally, without bearing in mind that depending on what forged that relationship in the first place might be a painful memory, in other words, it's not you, it's them. 

What makes one relationship withstand the ages while others are left suspended as if left in the past on the storyboard of our lives, while the other remains as one of the narrators?  A thought to ponder for a while…  For one such friend, I doubt very much that I shall look back on the storyboard of my life, wondering whatever happened to my friend so and so…  you know, that angsty one that like black and silver, MMA, cats, values ethics over morals and was so damn high and mighty…Thank you for being my anchor, my diametrically opposed diatribe, intellectual leprechaun, my family… 

 

 

Susie Suh – "Light On My Shoulder"

It's easier to fall and harder to stand
It's easier to cry and harder to laugh,
And I don't know how, I don't know why
But you're the light on my shoulder
When I'm tired
It's easier to run and harder to be still
It's easier to think and harder to feel,
And I don't know how, I don't know why
But you're the light on my shoulder
When I'm tired
It's easier to hide and harder to trust
It's easier to hate and harder to love
And I don't know how, I don't know anything
But you're the temper in my voice

 

 

02 - Life To Me [Explicit] 03 - American Boy (Feat. Kanye West Album Version) 03 - Anchor

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

